Serving Everett, Tacoma, Olympia, Seattle, Bellevue, Mount Vernon, and Bellingham.

Negligent Driving can be a serious criminal charge in Washington State. We believe that many cases can be challenged on some level. Get help now!

Negligent Driving in Washington State

Washington has several different types of negligent driving charges – all of which are serious and will wreak havoc on your driving record and insurance rates. Some types of Negligent driving can result in up to 90 days in jail, or a $5,000 fine, and a 90 day license suspension.

With possible penalties such as these, it is vital that you have an experienced attorney represent you to make sure your rights are being protected. Our Washington Negligent Driving attorneys are here to answer your questions and to start preparing a defense for your case.

The first type of negligent driving you may encounter is first degree Negligent driving. This charge is a misdemeanor which carries a penalty up to 90 days in jail and a $1,000 fine. Additionally, a judge will typically order probation, and a drug or alcohol evaluation of some type.

While this charge is not as serious as a DUI, any type of driving crime with drugs or alcohol being involved can be problematic for your future, including any job requiring driving or you wanting to travel, like to Canada. Our Negligent Driving lawyers firmly believe that most cases can be attacked and challenged on some level.

The second type is negligent driving in the second degree. This charge is not a crime but rather an infraction. The penalty is only a $550 fine. This is cited when someone is being accused of driving in a negligent manner but there is no alcohol or drugs involved (unlike with the first type of negligent driving.) While this is not a crime, it will seriously impact your driving record and insurance rates.

The last type is negligent driving in the second degree with a vulnerable victim. While this is also not a crime, arguably, the penalties you face are greater than the criminal negligent driving. You can receive a $5,000 fine and a 90 day license suspension if you are found to have committed this infraction.

This type of negligent driving is just like the other negligent driving in the second degree except a vulnerable person was seriously injured or killed due to the negligent driving. The definition of a vulnerable person includes a pedestrian, bicyclist, and motorcyclist.

This type of charge is especially time sensitive so it is important you contact an attorney as soon as possible to make sure you do not miss potentially good resolutions.

No matter what type of negligent driving charge you are charged with, you are facing costly consequences. An experienced Washington State Negligent Driving lawyer will be able to properly analyze and prepare your case for the best resolution possible. If you have questions about your charge, do not hesitate to call the Law Offices of Jason Newcombe for a free initial consultation.